The Institution is funded from the budget of Toruń Municipality

Marina Abramoivić – Do czysta / The Cleaner

Exhibition / Piotr Krzymowski. Homo cellularis

Published: 12 marca 2019 Views: 1425 Festivals, Home

The 11th edition of the CoCArt Music Festival

When: 29–30 March 2019

Festival programme – concerts (Kino Centrum):

29 March 2019, Friday, 7pm
Qba Janicki (Poland)
Soundscape Mirror (Poland)
Norbert Möslang (Switzerland)

30 March 2019, Saturday, 7pm
Hubert Zemler (Poland)
Veronika Mayer / Conny Zenk (Austria)
Thomas Köner (Germany)

ONE-DAY TICKET (either 29th or 30th March): 30 PLN
NOTICE: The limited batch of 123 TWO-DAY TICKETS will go on sale on 1 February 2019!


CoCArt Music Festival is a true feast for fans of new music and audiovisual art in the broad sense. For over a decade, the festival organised every year in the Centre of Contemporary Art in Toruń has hosted distinguished performers from Poland and abroad. A great many of the invited musicians, performers and audiovisual artists who took part in the CoCArt Music Festival have been recognised as the true stars and forerunners of the most recent musical trends that emerged in the late 20th and early 21st century.  Do come and join as for the eleventh edition of our Festival!

11. CoCArt Music Festival – ARTISTS:

Thomas Köner (Germany) – electronic music composer and producer of outstanding merit in the development of the ambient genre, multimedia artist. Member of the Porter Ricks electronic music duo (with Andy Mellwig) who spearheaded the development of dub-techno in the mid-1990s under the aegis of the Chain Reaction record label. Active musician for nearly thirty years. in addition to over a dozen of his solo productions, he released several albums in collaboration with Asmus Tietchens, a living legend of German electroacoustics (Kontakt der Jünglinge). Audiovisual concert.

Norbert Möslang (Switzerland) – born in St. Gallen in 1952. Visual artist and musician (he plays, among others, the soprano saxophone, double bass and electronic instruments). He refers to his music as “cracked everyday-electronics”. Member of the Voice Crack duo (with Andy Ghul) in 1972–2002. He also performed with Poire_z and King Ubu örchestrü and collaborated with such artists as Otomo Yoshihide, Günter Müller, Jérôme Noetinger, Lionel Marchetti, Jim O’Rourke, Kevin Drumm, Jason Kahn, Oren Ambarchi, Keith Rowe, Aube. He is also a well-known film music composer, particularly of the soundtrack to The Sound of Insects – Record of a Mummy.

Veronika Mayer / Conny Zenk (Austria)
Veronika Mayer (audio), born in 1977, composer and audio artist living in Vienna. Her repertoire includes instrumental and electroacoustic compositions, sound installations and concerts with wide electronic instrumentation. Actively involved in electronic improvisation, she performs both solo and in collaboration with other musicians and visual artists. Her works have been presented at numerous contemporary music festivals in Austria, Argentina, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Great Britain, Indonesia, Italy, Mexico, Switzerland, Slovakia and the USA.

Conny Zenk (video), born in 1985, is a visual composer, video and media artist living in Vienna. Her main topics of interest include social media, migrations, gender, feminism, urban, architectural and spatial concepts. Her main task in the various audiovisual music projects of hers consists in creating a language of improvisation to connect distinct areas of art. By means of generative programs she creates abstract elements such as oscillating lines and surfaces, granular flickering and stroboscopic impulses. Conny Zenk plays with the concept of perception and of what is not visible.

Hubert Zemler (Poland) – one of the most sought-after drummers of Poland’s improvised music scene, graduate of the Frederic Chopin Academy of Music in Warsaw. He has performed with symphony orchestras (such as Opera Narodowa, Sinfonia Varsovia) and in collaboration with such eminent jazz musicians as Zbigniew Namysłowski and Wojciech Staroniewicz. Participant in numerous initiatives of Polish independent music groups (SzaZaZe, Horny Trees, and Babadag). His work includes interpretations of contemporary music. He played alongside Szabolcs Esztény, John Tilbury, Evan Ziporyn, Gyan Riley and the Kwadrofonik group. In addition to being involved in a number of musical ensembles, he has been working on his own projects for several years, both on his own and with other drummers.

Qba Janicki (Poland) – active in the circle of the Mózg club in Bydgoszcz from his teens, he has played hundreds of concerts with such artists as Jerzy Mazzoll, Sławek Janicki, Roscoe Mitchell, Tomasz Sroczyński, Toshinori Kondo, Kris Wanders and Fred Frith. Currently, he plays with the following groups: Wojtek Mazolewski Quintet, Malediwy (with Marek Pospieszalski), and Kondensator Przepływu (with Bartłomiej Chmara and Martyna Chojnacka). Aside from performing, he composes theatre music for such directors as Paweł Łysak, Artur Pałyga, Grzegorz Jaremko, and Łukasz Korczak. He also made a foray into hip-hop and produced one album of the Polish rapper Vienio. Co-founder of the Mózg Foundation, member of the Mózg Artistic Association, co-organizer of cultural projects in Bydgoszcz and Warsaw.

Soundscape Mirror (Poland)
Krzysztof Ostrowski (Freeze, audio) lives in Bydgoszcz and his long-standing involvement in composing a variety of electronic music forms has produced a wide range of atmospheric compositions and decidedly techno rhythms with a significant experimental twist. He is also a trumpeter and plays with a military orchestra, which certainly adds another dimension to his musical visions. His solo performances have been released under his nickname (Freeze), but he also performs with other artists, including Piotr Cisak, Mateusz Wysocki/Fischerle (under the name IFS) and Grzegorz Pleszyński (Transmemories).

Tomasz Roszczybiuk (Skof, video) – cultural manager, multimedia and audiovisual presentation artist, VJ, music lover. The leitmotiv of his work is the relations of image and sound together with their interaction and fusion. His projects are experiment-based and involve mixing and live-imaging.

11th CoCArt Music Festival is supported by:
– Austrian Cultural Forum in Warsaw
– Goethe Institut in Warsaw
– Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia

Festival’s curators: Rafał Iwański, Rafał Kołacki
Graphic design: Krzysztof Białowicz

Festival-related information can be found at the CoCA’s website:
The curators’ website:

Instytucja finansowana ze środków Miasta Toruń